Into the unknown…

the-unknown

Image Credit: Flickr and Mike Reva

“We’ve always defined ourselves by the ability to overcome the impossible. And we count these moments. These moments when we dare to aim higher, to break barriers, to reach for the stars, to make the unknown known. “

– Cooper, Interstellar(2014)

The completion of ’23 things’ has shed some light on the academic unknown that plagued the first 18 months of my Ph.D. Jargon designed to ignite fear in the most promising PGR’s heart, such as ‘impact’ and ‘influence,’ now seem within reach, as the arduous process of getting an article published can be somewhat overcome with the help of a little online presence. Having a focused task each week has meant I have maintained my motivation to update this blog on a regular basis and learning how to implement other resources within my posts has given me many new skills that will hopefully allow me to continue this blog, exploring both academic pursuits and popular culture.

Another element of this course that surprised me was the way in which it sparked my creativity. I used to love writing creatively, but since I began pursuing a career in academia, I haven’t found the time or the inclination to write anything other than critical material. The realisation that I can still write using a completely different register about a range of topics was probably the best thing about starting this blog. I was initially trained in journalism before moving to english literature and those writing skills reemerged fairly quickly. This will be an important skill in terms of impact as writing about complex matters in an accessible style will allow an engagement with a much wider range of people, hopefully beyond the limits of academic researchers. I hope to publish, not only on my research topic, but on other, less niche areas. I would particularly like to do some freelance work in the future: reviewing books and films; thus, allowing my hobbies to spill over into my work.

And so, I will continue blogging. I will need to ensure I plan my posts in order to keep updating this blog on a regular basis. I hope to post at least every fortnight on a range of different topics including film, lifestyle and some access into my academic research.

Thanks to the RDP team for all their support and the amazing resources they made available. It was a great learning experience and has had a big impact on my plans in terms of online presence and impact!

Leave a Reply

